Copyright

Standard
Copyright

Copyright_symbol_9

I’m really sorry about this post/rant and apologies to the hundreds of wonderful customers who this does not apply to. It has come to my attention that some of our patterns are being run as commercial classes without our knowledge or permission and I would respectfully like to set the record straight.

As our followers and customers are aware Quilting Antics sells kits and patterns to make a range of patchwork and quilted items. There are two ways that these patterns come to us, firstly very good friends of mine create designs which Quilting Antics buys the rights to use. The second way is that we create our own designs and write our own patterns. I am very proud of the work that we do as it takes many many hours to prepare even the simplest of designs. I try to be  fair to everyone and I think that you will agree £4.50 is an extremely competitive price for a pattern especially when you consider the amount of time, paper, ink, printing, packaging and collating that goes into each individual package; some contain several A3 sheets which are not cheap to produce.

To this end, I am aware that people have bought only one copy of our patterns then photocopied it for the whole of their quilt group to use. I have turned a blind eye to this, even though it is not fair to our designers…come on ladies at £4.50 is it too much to ask that each person buys a copy of the pattern? However I have discovered this week that a  lady bought one of my patterns and is charging £30, YES £30! per person for other people to make our project. This is absolutely unacceptable, not to mention a huge two fingers up to our copyright; it is akin to shoplifting and I feel so upset that I have tried my hardest to be fair  by keeping prices as reasonable as possible. Not only that but why should  I pay a lot of money for the rights to certain designs and then others steal this intellectual property and sell the designs commercially without having to pay the designer?

I really feel upset by the words that I have typed, the moral to this is, if you run or attend a class and the pattern you are using is not your own, please have a thought to the designer and play fair.

Quilting Antics reserves the copyrights to all the patterns it buys, produces and sells.

15 responses »

  1. I find this quite amazing and feel that your response has been very measured. I would be furious in fact I am furious on you behalf. I hope the person in question feels very ashamed of themselves.
    Jean Maxwell

  2. I totally agree with you. I do hope that you’ve had professional advice on how to deal with this person. I run sewing classes but if ever I use a pattern, I buy as many as are needed for the class and include that cost in the course fee. Well done for not exploding online – like everyone else has said, this is a professional rational post and I wish you luck with it.

  3. I totally agree with your post, it is totally unacceptable for people to copy patterns and what a cheek to charge £30!

    Jan Williams

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. As a designer myself I know how this feels and like you yes you can turn a blind eye to the odd one but this is clearly blatant copyright which is so disrespectful and definitely NOT acceptable.
    To charge such an amount also is quite shocking.

    I really would investigate professional advice over this
    Thoughts are with you
    Tilly x

  5. I have designed my own patterns too and am amazed by the amount of people who expect to use them free of charge. They have no idea how much time and effort goes into perfecting the designs and writing out the instructions. Good for you for having a rant – you’re absolutely right!

    • Thanks for your support Gill, you are right I think a lot of people would be surprised if they knew what goes into creating new designs; even down to the chaos our families have to put up/live with during our creative processes!

  6. I also agree with the name and shame however, I would go further and threaten them with legal action if she does not make a donation for how much it would have cost her had she brought individual packs for each in her class and also if it is found that she does this again.

    Although I live on the Norfolk coast I love visiting your shop, when I am in the area (I lived in Langcliffe for the first 3-4 years of my life years ago) to purchase items as gifts for my wife and daughter as I haven’t found a better place to get these patterns from. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

