Time to pull your finger out girl!

Standard
Time to pull your finger out girl!

Once again I’m trying to get going with this blinking electronic stuff! AARRGGHH!!

I’d like to promise that I’m going to be a good blogger and keep it up but life, as we’ve noticed, has a habit of getting in the way, anyway here’s a quick catch up… First of all I have been updating the commercial website and the good news is that it should be open again in a few days YAY!

The spring show season has just come to an end for me at Sandown Park Racecourse and I now have two months of craziness preparing for the autumn season; that thought is bonkers as it’s still only June isn’t it?

If we’ve met up over the last few months you will know that I have been selling increasing amounts of British wool tweed. As this is still a fairly new medium for British patchwork and quilters to use we have been producing as many kits and patterns as we can to inspire you and give you ideas on how to use it. I absolutely love tweed, it is so satisfying to work with; the only thing I do differently to when I’m sewing, with cotton, is to reinforce my seams with either an overlock, zig zag or equivalent automatic machine stitch so that the seams do not fray. As an added bonus, the cost of the tweed is offset because there is no need for wadding between the layers of your throws.

The little man has taken up dancing recently and I find that three days a week I am passing the time hand stitching at Sanderson’s World of Dance in Nelson whilst he is strutting his stuff, this has led me to realise that my sewing roll was not up to the job because my bits and bobs fall out of it, so one of the many patterns that we have produced is for a more contained piece if kit to store everything in. To that end, what do you think to my ‘Measure Twice’ sewing case?

insideThere are two pencil cases to store my pens and my rotary cutter, a huge pin cushion, brass loops to hold embroidery thread, large pocket for glasses and mobile phone, needle case, scissor holder, bobbin holder and then large outer pockets for stuffing patterns in.

front

I was a bit disappointed with the photos as they don’t do it full justice but I hope you will like it. If you want to buy a copy give us a ring on 01729 824708 we can also arrange to sell it in kit form.

Also what do you think to my Doorstop Diva’s? They were so easy to make and are set off by the huge wooden buttons. I may revisit this pattern and really go to town decorating them when I get a chance. For now if you want a copy or a kit give us a ring.

bradley bag pic 1

Have you got any ideas for things we can create with the tweed? If so let me know and I will have a bash. Thats it for now folks so hopefully I’ll be back again soon toodleoo 🙂

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

