Preparations for Edinburgh are coming along nicely

Standard
Preparations for Edinburgh are coming along nicely

Thank you soo very much, to everyone who reblogged and who rang us to buy the wool tweed which I put on the blog last week…its now all gone! We were absolutely floored by the response, it was amazing and so definitely something I will repeat as it seems that many of you struggle to get a variety of top quality tweed at the low prices which we offer, I’m really pleased that we can oblige you 😉 Would it be useful if I made it a regular Friday thing? Let me know.

Today we have been very busy bees, preparing for the quilt show at Ingliston, Edinburgh next week. I decided that I would ‘knock up’ a few Union Jack cushions to show people how they can use the tweed especially the off cuts. The long thin strips are ideal; whats more it doesn’t matter if the lengths are a bit short as botching them up only serves to add to the appeal.

P1070961

I don’t think it is a secret that I am a huge fan of wool tweed…I went shopping yesterday and I saw the most amazing fabric footstool; it was huge and had a hand painted cow on the top. It was also gorgeous but not the £150 worth of gorgeous the shop wanted for it. Then I had one of those light bulb moments and thought I bet we could make one of those in tweed…so we are! Continuing the theme of using up left overs, we decided to piece the top in small squares to use up as many bits as we could. Look at the photo, see how the random colours work together and compliment each other. I think that I will weigh the resulting block of squares and then if anyone wants to recreate our cushion we can bag up a random selection of colours so that you would be able to achieve the look as cheaply as possible. Again, feel free to feedback your thoughts as I am really eager to know what you think.

 

P1070966

 

Finally for today I wanted to share, with you, the progress on the flying geese. We pondered for ages and thought about the feedback that we’d had, this is the result, the beginnings of a bag. Sue will make another strip of flying geese to go along the bottom, should they fly the same way or opposite way? then she will make up the bag using a simple design so as not to detract from the wow factor of the geese. I love it, well done Sue you have created a beauty.

P1070968

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

