Busy girls at the mill

Standard
Busy girls at the mill

First of all, I want to thank everyone who came to see us at the Ardingly Quilt Show; this year was amazing we met so many lovely new faces and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are going through a bit of a change at the moment so we left the yellow T-shirts at home, which means you are forgiven if you didn’t recognise us; we did feel a bit too incognito for our liking so might have to do something to remedy the situation in due course.
I have been busy attempting to become a designer maker over the last few months and the show was my first opportunity to display my ‘Sweet Jasmine’ baby bag, covered in lots of stitchery and needle turned applique. Let me know what you think to it. I love it, I have hidden a drawstring for security a few inches down from the top, so that the embroidery isn’t too distorted when it is drawn up and I put large roomy pockets inside to hold bottles, baby wipes and the like. We have just started to make ‘Sweet William’ the boys version it is sooo cute
P1070887
The main attraction at the show was our lovely wool tweed
IMG_1528
We are having a play around with the tweed to see what kind of things we can make in order to give people ideas, look at these pears I knocked up this afternoon.
P1070905
OK so they are not a perfect pair but the tweed is such good fun to play with. Averil has been making a large piece of crazy patchwork today which I will show off soon, we don’t yet know what it will become but we will let you know as soon as we work it…

9 responses »

    • Thank you Pamela, I loved making the bag, the test will now come when people follow my pattern…fingers crossed it works well. The pears were so easy to make, I simply put 4 layers of fabric together, cut a pear shape though all layers and then joined them RS together, turned through, stuffed, then stitch up the gap. Later I will add a leaf. It’s an idea I saw in a book.

Leave a Reply

