We’ve been papped!!

Image
We’ve been papped!!

It has been a really exciting day today because we have had a visit from the Craven Herald (our local rag) and if you ‘bear with’ I’ll tell you why.

A couple of years ago I made a quilt which I planned to raffle for charity…big do’s and little do’s I never got round to it.

Anyhow, when I opened the shop last year and started meeting lots of new people, many of whom are now cherished friends, I met Kate. Kate Lockwood is a prolific fundraiser for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance. During conversation I told Kate about the quilt that I had made and I offered it to her in order to raise more funds for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance.

Kate registered herself in order to officially hold raffles and we set about selling tickets. We sold tickets locally and also at shows such as Yarndale, The Great Northern Quilt Show and The Knitting and Stitching Show at Harrogate. In total we raised £558.

I would like to say a huge thank you to everyone involved, to Kate, the WI’s who sold loads of tickets and every person who bought a ticket. The winner was a lady called Anthea from Harrogate (great name.) I hope you will get many years of enjoyment from it. Below is a picture of the quilt. I hope you will agree it is lovely.

raffle quilt

 Gillian is displaying the cheque which we presented to a lovely lady called Ruth who was representing Yorkshire Air Ambulance.  It says £550 which was a typo by me the actual total is £558. Good effort everyone!P1060148

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

